Is DPC legal?

(Robin Dickinson) #1

@jpkeese @appalenia This topic came up in another thread. I know some of this varies from state to state (the OP is in California). But I know people are managing to do this in every state.

Marketing Consultant
(Appalenia Udell, Esq.) #2

I’m a health lawyer specializing in DPC; I’m licensed in CA, CO, and WA. A few things here:

1. California made a terrible attempt at a DPC law that died a horrible death in committee and it will likely require some turn over before another law is capable of being successful. In the meantime, DPCs in California remain vulnerable and need to be very clear about the fact that they don’t assume risk. Claims about 24/7 availability for care are more likely to lead to a finding that the practice is bearing risk and therefore constitutes the practice of insurance. Also of note here is how we describe the difference between DPC and traditional delivery.
    MedLion was penalized heavily by a Florida court, in part, for making flowery claims about “superior” or “excellent” care. While we all feel strongly that DPC is superior care, we want to be mindful about what we say in our marketing.
  2. HIPAA is a floor when it comes to patient privacy, not a ceiling. Many (if not most) states have consumer or patient protection laws that are much more rigorous than HIPAA; California is a perfect example of this.