How to handle groups/businesses

(Robin Dickinson) #1

How does everyone handle business sign ups?

I have only very informally had businesses get involved in paying for memberships and it’s been for very small businesses where the wife/secretary (who is also one of my patients) was worried about one of “the guys” and so she entered the business card number in on the patient’s portal so I wasn’t officially involved. Or the family membership is being paid through the family business but I don’t really know since they just enter whatever card they want.

Now I’ve had a slightly larger (around 10 employees) contact me with questions about doing memberships for their employees. Do you have a separate contract for the employer and the patients? How do you handle family members of the employee if they want to sign up too? Do you do any sort of discount for the group? What do you do if someone is no longer employed by the company?

(Dochost) #2

I’m just getting into this myself and signed up a company with potentially 80 employees plus families. I do not give any discounts as I believe my fees are reasonable and already will provide 20% discount on their employee costs down the road.This employer didn’t even ask.
They are using my contract for each employee, just substituting that the company will pay for the memberships as long as the employee gets one wellness exam per year. (an excellent deal, I highly rec!! You can point out that most DPC patients save 20-25% on insurance costs, the longer they are in a DPC plan the better!) I signed a separate contract with the company to provide DPC services for 1 year, 90 day separation, etc etc. If someone is no longer employed, we would contact them and see if they wish to take on the cost of the membership themselves (I did have an employee do this for about a year after they left the company). They are, of course, no longer included in the patient list the employer pays me off of.