Do you make "special plans" for special Patients?

(Robin Dickinson) #1

I’m trying to decide how to balance my tendency to become very attached to patients with my goal to run this like a business. :wink:

I rarely mind when adults leave my practice because of a changing situation, but I’ve been doing DPC for five years now, and it’s hard to see the kids go. I’m often the only doctor they’ve ever known. Occasionally I know for sure I want to keep them no matter what and then I’ll just tell Mom to choose whatever monthly price she can afford for them to keep coming.

But I’ve lately been debating whether to have a secret discounted plan (or offer people my start up prices instead of current prices) in order to stay with me if they’ve been with me long term and are just coming in for the well child checks etc.

Ugh. I’m usually so firm with boundaries. But seeing kids go is hard for me!

(Dr Rob Lamberts) #2

I don’t have a “secret” fee schedule, I just discount where I see appropriate. I don’t see this as being bad business at all; I see it as doing business as I see fit and discounting where appropriate. It’s one of those things I can do with impunity now in DPC that I couldn’t do before.

(Robin Dickinson) #3

Thank you. This is how I usually see it but lately I’ve had a run of patients whose situation caused me to offer significant discounts and I started to question myself. The reality is this is MY practice and I’m doing just fine so there’s no reason to not do what I think is best. Yay for DPC!

(cjs56) #4